RSS

Why Glasses Are Bad

20 Sep

From an email (friend in the UK with myopia of about -5.00):

The thing I realised about four years ago is that glasses don’t really solve the problem of looking at different depths and distances. Your eyes are forced to adjust to using the maximum strength lens at all distances.That’s why I started wearing weaker glasses most of the day. Besides being more comfortable, I thought it might slow down the rate of deterioration  But, thinking about it, if eyes can adjust by getting worse, why not adjust by getting better?

I noticed this when I was around 16 years old too — that the higher-powered glasses weren’t exactly making my eyesight better (in fact, they were making my eyesight worse).

As my eyes became used to the higher-powered prescription for far distance, the higher-powered lenses were too strong for close range. I didn’t have weaker lenses at the time for close range work (and I couldn’t see further than a couple of inches in front of my face without glasses). So it just got steadily worse until mid-2008 when I sought a way to improve my (deteriorating) eyesight by natural means.

This is an important page from the Relearning to See eyesight book.

It contains an excerpt from Why Glasses Are Bad for Children and Young People, by Joseph Kennebeck, a practicing optometrist for more than 50 years.

Click on the thumbnail to view the text:

eyeglasses

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 20, 2012 in Updates (2012)

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Why Glasses Are Bad

  1. tips on vision therapy exercises

    February 16, 2013 at 9:05 am

    Hey there! This is my first visit to your blog!
    We are a collection of volunteers and starting a
    new project in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided
    us useful information to work on. You have done a extraordinary job!

     
  2. Noah Mercy

    April 20, 2013 at 8:08 am

    Hi! You have hit the nail on the head regarding the disadvantage of wearing glasses. I have been wearing them for about 20 years now. My eyesight has just gotten worse over the years. I it has affected my lifestyle so much, in a dis-empowering way. I’ve been reading quite a bit about natural vision improvement and am beginning my own journey of vision improvement!

     
    • Jess C Scott

      April 20, 2013 at 7:48 pm

      hi Noah,

      my eyesight got worse throughout my teenage and early 20s. it’s very slowly been improving though i intend to keep up the progress!

      i agree with you on how relying on glasses can affect one’s lifestyle negatively. i would be really overjoyed to be able to work at the computer without glasses.

      best wishes with your vision improvement journey :D

       

Leave a Reply

 
