RSS

Update: 13 September 2012

14 Sep

SHORT LOG:

– Highest Prescription (myopia, 2006), -7.25 (both eyes)

– Managed to get it down to -6.00 (both eyes), 2008

– Plateaued at -5.00 (both eyes), 2009-2011

– Close to -4.00 (both eyes); using -2.00 for computer; no glasses for reading / writing, Sept 2012

* * *

LONGER VERSION:

I drastically cut down my computer usage over the past few days (and am not doing close-range work at “a hundred percent” either, until I’m able to do so without straining my eyes).

From these few days, I realise that I hardly blinked or moved my eyes (even small movements) whenever I was using the computer. I tend to have this habit while watching TV too (and I don’t watch *that* much television).

When I was sixteen (my prescription was around -5.75 or -6.00 then, maybe), I noticed that my eyes felt more relaxed whenever I took off my glasses. It was kind of impossible to go without glasses though (that was my O-Levels year as a student in Singapore). Now that I have the chance to “relearn good eyesight habits,” I’m doing all that I can to ensure my progress continues to go smoothly :)

My -4.00 powered lenses are very strong now for close-range work (it’s almost sharp when I’m outdoors and there’s bright sun / indoors it gets a bit fuzzy with further distances). My eyesight has always been sharper in the sunlight (noticed this from long time ago). I hope to improve my “night vision” too as I continue re-integrating the good eyesight habits into daily life/activities until they become subconscious.

Right now I blink more and my eyes / head moves a little bit more when I’m using the computer. The three “principles” of good eyesight habits are (1) movement, (2) centralisation (instead of diffusing and “trying to see everything at once,” which strains the eyes, and (3) mental relaxation (the most important and I think the hardest principle to establish, depending on one’s daily lifestyle).

Looking back from my first pair of glasses at 7.5 years old (and -0.75 prescription), all the way till around 19 or 20 years old (with my highest prescription of around -7.25), I suppose my internal levels of “stress” correlates with the higher-powered lenses (stronger prescription – more stressed = more strain = going back to the optician for another new pair of glasses). I’ve not visited an optician since 2006 (I got all my lower prescription glasses from www.zenni.com). I have always been an ambitious person, so I intend for my next trip to the optician to be a visit where I can prove to myself that I no longer need to rely on glasses to see things.

I always hated going for those eye tests, by the way. I used to really dread it and would panic whenever I needed to get it done annually when I was a student.

I grew up in Singapore and I remember crying all the way home when I was fitted with my first pair of glasses. I was just really distressed about it at 7.5 years old and didn’t wear them for about a year, after which the prescription went up to something like -1.50 and I had to wear them permanently from then on.

The opticians over there tend to deliberately make your eyesight worse (good for business), which is why I mostly loathe opticians nowadays (lol). In 2008 I noticed my eyesight beginning to deteriorate again, and I was kinda desperate not to get them higher than -7.25, which is how I found the Relearning to See book that I mentioned in the first post here.

It is heartening to know that the author of that book had an original prescription of -8.00 (oh my!). In one of the chapters, I read that he broke out in a skin rash on the left side of his body as he was improving his eyesight naturally (part of the healing crisis associated with homeopathy / the ‘natural method’ of doing things so that the body heals itself naturally).

I had a weird skin rash in the past week, and I took a few pictures.

healing crisis rash

– This first pic is the rash when it was very itchy (a few days ago / night time).

hand rash

– This second picture was taken today (the spots are smaller and darker / beginning to calm down and fade away, I think).

I had some weird things happen while treating my acne naturally, so I’m getting used to the way it goes with natural methods :)

I’ve been having vision-oriented dreams too (and occasional dreams where I don’t wear my glasses, or panic when I leave my glasses somewhere behind in the dream, lol).

Able to use -2.00 glasses for computer work, and no glasses for reading / close-range writing (for short amounts of time).

Will keep up the progress. I don’t mind glasses at all as an accessory, but I hate having to rely on them so heavily for daily work and to just bloody hell SEE properly.

The first time I heard about the Bates Method was when I was around 16 years old. My interest/curiosity was piqued. If other people could find success with it, perhaps I could too.

I’m more determined to one day have perfect vision without glasses (like when I was a very young kid), than to lose to the opticians who would have me (and people like me, in terms of eyesight) enslaved to their glasses / contact lenses all in the name of business. I know not *all* opticians are this way (some do support natural eyesight methods/classes), but the vast majority of opticians I personally experienced fall into the “$$$ first” category.

Relearning and maintaining good eyesight habits is far more important and sensible to me than being enslaved to the bad habits of unscrupulous opticians.

P.S. During my last two visits to an optician, some astigmatism thing was added to my lenses. I removed those immediately when I ordered my lower powered glasses online, and have had no problems with “astigmatism” since (I never believed I had that problem).

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 14, 2012 in Updates (2012)

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Update: 13 September 2012

  1. Glenn

    November 19, 2012 at 12:03 pm

    This is really cool, I’m super impressed by your results! from -7.25 to -4! That’s phenomenal! I would love to know if you’ve made any more improvements. Also, what is your opinion of the skeptical people who say that this kind of vision improvement isn’t possible?

    Well done my friend :)

     
    • Jess C Scott

      December 10, 2012 at 12:13 pm

      it might be more like -4.50 at the moment (for long range), lol! then again it is wintertime now and i’ve had some stresses in the past few months, so am hopeful for ongoing process (no matter how slight).

      i would nonetheless encourage skeptical people to not overthink things and to just give the method a try. can’t harm, right? ;) thanks for your well wishes + website too!

       
  2. Clark Night

    January 15, 2013 at 8:31 pm

    Saw your review of Relearning to See on Amazon. Love the Blog and great progress!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

